SHSU College Of 教育 Receives 识别

Oct. 18, 2023
SHSU媒体联系人: Mikah博伊德

Dustin Hebert, associate dean of Accountability & Stacey Edmonson, dean of the College of 教育

Sam Houston State University is one of 21 universities to be recognized by the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP) for excellence in educator preparation. The institutions were recognized for their leadership and commitment to continuous improvement. The recipients of the 2023 弗兰克·穆雷 Leadership 识别 for Continuous Improvement provided evidence and data trends to achieve accreditation.  

“This fifth class to receive the Murray 识别 represents the diversity and innovation that comes with CAEP accreditation. Small, large, public, private, 以信仰为基础的, and historically minority-serving,” said CAEP president Christopher Koch. “These recipients reflect the innovation that CAEP affords in achieving excellence, by meeting the standards in a variety of ways, for the diverse populations they serve.”

The recognition is named after the founding president of the Teacher 教育 Accreditation Council (TEAC), 弗兰克·穆雷. who was a key advocate for a single set of educator preparation standards to unify the profession.

“The providers that the CAEP is recognizing are committed to continuous improvement and preparing their students to succeed in a diverse range of classrooms after they graduate,余航蓉说, chair of the CAEP Board of Directors. “CAEP Accreditation is a sign of commitment to quality through purposeful use of evidence. The Murray Leadership 识别 recipients should be proud of their accomplishments.”

CAEP accreditation serves the dual purposes of accountability and continuous improvement.  541 educator preparation providers in 43 states, 哥伦比亚特区, 波多黎各, Jordan and the United Arab Emirates have been accredited under the CAEP Standards. The CAEP accreditation process evaluates the performance of providers and focuses particularly on whether candidates will be prepared for the challenging responsibilities that educators face in our classrooms. Approximately 600 educator preparation providers participate in the CAEP accreditation system, including some previously accredited through former standards.

2023 弗兰克·穆雷 识别 for Continuous Improvement

Al Ain University—United Arab Emirates
Alcorn State University—Mississippi
Elon University—North Carolina
North Carolina State University
Northwest Nazarene University—Idaho
Sam Houston State University—Texas
Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania
The University of Mississippi
University of South Carolina Beaufort
Valley City State University—North Dakota
Virginia Wesleyan University
Williams Baptist University—Arkansas

The Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation ( advances equity and excellence in educator preparation through evidence-based accreditation that assures quality and supports continuous improvement to strengthen P-12 student learning.

- END -

This page maintained by SHSU's 通信 Office:

Associate Director, 通信: 艾米丽Binetti

通信管理器: Mikah博伊德

通讯作者: 坎贝尔阿特金斯


Please send comments, corrections, news tips to